Man Booker Prize Shortlist

by mistersoto

It’s one of those things that has nearly slipped me by without detection, but a few days ago, (September 10th), this years Man Booker Prize shortlist was announced, I’ve reserved feelings about literary prizes, maybe prize giving in general, does their awarding actually bestow more literary worth on one title over another?, the same question could be asked about other such prizes and awards across the arts in general, maybe this isn’t the true intention of such awards. Perhaps the purpose is to bring to prominence or to the wider public’s attention a certain work, which can only be a good thing, especially when perhaps the recipient is an author, artist, poet, or filmmaker that is a relatively unknown one, and the prominence of the Man Booker Prize is something hard to avoid, the shortlist –

The Luminaires
– Eleanor Catton
Harvest – Jim Crace
A Tale for the Time Being – Ruth Ozeki
The Lowland – Jhumpa Lahiri
We Need New Names – NoViolet Bulawayo
The Testament of Mary – Colm Toibin

 

There’s a good mixture of established names here and those that are perhaps not so familiar, from the list I’ve read Colm Toibin’s The Testament of Mary, which I read straight after reading Saramago’s Cain, so maybe some of it’s potency escaped me. I’ve also a copy waiting to be read of Ruth Ozeki’s A Tale for the Time Being. Out of the list I think I’d make a rather rushed choice in hoping that Jim Crace is awarded the prize, I’ve not read Harvest yet, but I first read Jim Crace when Being Dead was published back in 1999 and then went on to read a number of his then backlist, aside from a couple of his novels I’ve not read so as to save something for a rainy day, although I’ve read that he is the bookies favourite, which may not bode well, but I guess we’ll have to wait until October the 15th for the judges verdict, and then after that it must be nearly time for the Nobel Prize to announced, any predictions, or thoughts on awards/prizes?.

 

Man Booker Prize Shortlist 2013

 

