reading

by mistersoto

 

 

Books – recently read/currently reading/to read –

I’ve had a small run on reading novels by Clarice Lispector recently, Near to the Wild Heart is my second, and I plan on reading another two, Agua Viva and The Hour of the Star, during the summer, I think I’d have to say that I found The Passion According to G.H a little more accessible than Near to the Wild Heart, which in places became perhaps a little too theological for me, but it remained an astounding read, incredible to contemplate that Lispector was 23 when she wrote it. Also recently read The Third Tower by Antal Szerb, published by Pushkin Press, (the rest of the books here are published by Penguin), an account of travels in Italy during 1936, really enjoyed this little book although it was very slight, just over a hundred pages with additionally photographs added for this edition, but a fascinating read. Currently reading Calvino’s Under the Jaguar Sun, which I’m approaching being half way through, the title story tells of a couple’s journey into Oaxaca, visiting ancient sites which leads to contemplations of a time of human sacrifices, Calvino’s narrative entwines these old and contemporary threads in a heady mix, culminating in a description of being caught in a universal cannibalism, this is my second reading of Calvino after reading The Castle of Crossed Destinies some years ago. Simone de Beauvoir’s The Blood of Others is a novel I’ve wanted to read for some time, so I bought it after managing to find a second hand copy at a street stall recently. Same could be said of The Bridge of San Luis Rey, by Thornton Wilder, (twice winner of the Pulitzer Prize), it’s been sat on my shelf for far longer than I’d care to contemplate, so I’ve taken it down and kept it close to hand to start this week, this years discovery so far though for me has been Clarice Lispector.

 

